top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemily and the line

That group project blog continued

With out idea established it was great to be able to do some drawings to visually explore the ideas discussed. I play with drawing people in vulnerable positions but interesting I found the wings to be a vital device to reflect someone emotions, especially in terms of fragility which is something we wanted to explore. This helped me know where I personally wanted to input into the next group meeting, I wanted to suggest me make to wings a focal point and through these explorations I came up with a idea. I thought being as we wanted to explore to slang term "bird" and were wanting "creative disruption, also that wings beautifully expressed emotions such as vulnerability I thought we could make our project about domestic abuse. I thought this would be a good idea as we would be using shocking visuals to create footfall and get people talking about domestic abuse, helping to defeat the stigma. I got really excited about the idea and then had another brain wave. We could use it as a marketing tool to help people and use the attention this "creative disruption" causes in a positive way, to help people. Therefore I thought alongside the wall art we could have an bird box booth. Almost like a confessional style booth, but a discreet booth a victim could go to and talk to a therapist or councillor to make the first step to escaping abuse. Therefore at our next meeting I pitched them this idea and I was so pleased that they loved the idea and also got excited about the potential. Jess suggested we could make the "birdhouse" a business venture, a concept that could roll out across strategically placed Universities. This suggested sparked the interest of the graphic designers as this gave them the opportunities to show off their skills in marketing and branding design.


Once the idea was agreed on we all naturally found roles, Rich took on board the logo and piece together of any marketing visuals or tools, Elliot and myself took on the actual wall art and illustrations for this marketing. Jess and Hilde looking into the business management and planning side of thing but also helped creating some mock ups and sketches, sketches for things such as the app that an animation of was created by our animator. Everyone in the group had their own designated task to complete. Before we left the meeting I suggested that as me and Elliot were creating our product as a pair, I focus on my line detail strengths and draw the wings and Elliot focus on his character design strengths by drawing the character. I also volunteered to be the one to compile of the various versions of Elliot and my own images as I know he creates his images of procreate as opposed to photoshop like Rich would. This is an example of how having this previous knowledge of how people work enables responsibilities to be delegated appropriately and in a manor in which you can get the best out of each team member. This is why I felt the initial bonding of the team was so important.


I have a clear idea of what I needed to do so I could commit to doing a detailed line drawing. Below in an image of the wings I draw with fine liner and then scanned in a rasterised. I made the decision to rasterise them so that I could play with colour, as at the point Rich had already designed the logo and out of the logo design came a brilliantly thought out colour scheme. Rich chose the colours reflective of the LGBT society as in one of out meetings we discussed whether we should do something current and around that time was gay pride, we discussed the ideas involving stigma LGBT people face and how we'd like to defeat that. Therefore Rich cleverly decided that using these colour is our logos response to a current issue but also remarks the domestic violence does discriminate across gender or sexuality.


Below is an image of the wings I design alongside a gallery of explorations I did with the wings in different positions reflective of the fall of the individual. However, as well as depicting the fall I also wanted to highlight the recovery therefore draw some more uplifting positions reflective of someone spreading their wings and escaping both the abused and the stigma associated around being a victim of it!


A well as using the Facebook messenger group chat to communicate we created a googledocs PowerPoint which we all kept adding our work to so I made sure I got my work up promptly. I then waited to received Elliot's character drawings so I could edit them together to create our characters.


Once he sent them over I began to play with the position of them as you will see below. We had images of the character in freefall to show their decline, the next stage for me and Elliot was to began to illustrate the recovery.


I coloured my wings to fit with the previously discussed coloured scheme. One of the issues we had was a couple of members of our team had to miss some meetings for valid reasons such as hospital appointments. However, we did not communicate what was said back to them properly in group meetings which was evidently shown in Elliot misunderstanding of varying ideas we were torn between following as a group an in his absence we deicide to go with one idea, and we must have failed to tell him this. Elliot's images represent the idea we discussed of the stages in the downfall of victims.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page